Men’s Ice Hockey Finalists Announced for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

February 15, 2017

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 16, 2017) – Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 27. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

Men’s Hockey Finalists
Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence
Will Butcher, Denver
Parker Gahagen, Army West Point
David Goodwin, Penn State
Brendan Harms, Bemidji State
Johnny Hrabovsky, Air Force
Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard
Brock Maschmeyer, Northern Michigan
Chad McDonald, Ferris State
John Stevens, Northeastern

# # # #

Erik Miner
Phone: (913) 563-5412
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Kansas City-based Premier Sports Management manages the award.

*NCAA and Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.