Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

February 14, 2017

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 15, 2017) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 20. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

Men’s Basketball Finalists

Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson
Evan Bradds, Belmont
Josh Hart, Villanova
Josh Hawkinson, Washington State
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Amile Jefferson, Duke
Peter Jok, Iowa
Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga
Tim Kempton, Lehigh
Frank Mason III, Kansas

Women’s Basketball Finalists
Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame
Nina Davis, Baylor
Brionna Jones, Maryland
Erica McCall, Stanford
Adrienne Motley, Miami
Kelsey Plum, Washington
Leticia Romero, Florida State
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland
Lizzy Wendell, Drake
Sydney Wiese, Oregon State

# # # #

Erik Miner
Phone: (913) 563-5412
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Kansas City-based Premier Sports Management manages the award.

*NCAA and Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.