Men’s Ice Hockey Candidates Announced for 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

January 13, 2017

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 13, 2017) – Fifteen of the top NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 15 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.

Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence
Will Butcher, Denver
James de Haas, Clarkson
Max French, Bentley
Parker Gahagen, Army West Point
David Goodwin, Penn State
Brendan Harms, Bemidji State
Johnny Hrabovsky, Air Force Academy
Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard
Justin Kloos, Minnesota
Brock Maschmeyer, Northern Michigan
Chad McDonald, Ferris State
Nick Schilkey, Ohio State
John Stevens, Northeastern
Eric Sweetman, St. Lawrence

For more information on all the candidates, visit