Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

January 5, 2017

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 5, 2017) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 10 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Five of this year’s candidates were 2015-16 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans®, and 20 returned to the court this season after receiving All-America honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to fields of 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

# # # #

Brett Bisping, Siena
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson
Evan Bradds, Belmont
Troy Caupain, Cincinnati
T.J. Cline, Richmond
Willie Conner, Buffalo
Steven Cook, Princeton
Garret Covington, Western Illinois
Billy Garrett Jr., DePaul
Darius Graham, UC Davis
Josh Hart, Villanova
Josh Hawkinson, Washington State
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Malcolm Hill, Illinois
Amile Jefferson, Duke
Peter Jok, Iowa
Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga
Tim Kempton, Lehigh
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin
Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Jason McManamen, Wyoming
Jalen Moore, Utah State
Omar Prewitt, William & Mary
Austin Price, Lehigh
Davon Reed, Miami
Matt Thomas, Iowa State
Derrick Walton Jr., Michigan
Maurice Watson Jr., Creighton

Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame
Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky
Sophie Brunner, Arizona State
Nina Davis, Baylor
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Jessica January, DePaul
Seanna Johnson, Iowa State
Brionna Jones, Maryland
Sigi Koizar, Maine
Kari Korver, UCLA
Kelsey Lang, Texas
Breanna Lewis, Kansas State
Marina Lizarazu, Iona
Erica McCall, Stanford
Taylor McCarley, UMBC
Lanay Montgomery, West Virginia
Adrienne Motley, Miami
Kendall Noble, Western Kentucky
Ellen Nystrom, Colorado State
Kelsey Plum, Washington
Rosanna Reynolds, Detroit Mercy
Leticia Romero, Florida State
Elle Tinkle, Gonzaga
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland
Madison Weekly, Northern Iowa
Lizzy Wendell, Drake
Kindred Wesemann, Kansas State
Sydney Wiese, Oregon State
Ronni Williams, Florida